Fun? - feedback from a vet

ouchouchouchouchouchouch
First Assault Rep: 475
edited March 17 in Suggestions and Feedback
Okay, so, I'm not big on feedback but for a few patches I really enjoyed this game and since it's not doing well at all I have to write something here and fulfill my beta tester duty (long overdue). I don't know if any of the devs give a fraction of a f*ck at this point but I'm gonna do this anyway. I thought about this a lot and tried to narrow it down to the core and I'm an indie dev myself so let me tell you a short (wall of text incoming oh boy) story that will lead us to what I believe is the biggest problem with this game right now.

When I started playing gits:fa I sucked. The community was small(beta) and few people with exp dominated . Nevertheless, I learned the maps and guns, unlocked stuff and through all this time, even when eboskie, pandaprof 2501 etc were wiping the floor with me I had fun. Now, the reason I had a ton of fun was because no matter how much I failed, I could see an opportunity to do better. I knew if I focus more, undertand the map and flow better, if I juke better, I can outplay the opposition. For a while I played at least a couple hours a day and over the course of a few months I got good. When playing with less experienced players I was topping the score. This was still the time when it took half a mag or more to kill a dude, and crouching and strifing was actually doing something. Initiative and skill were rewarded, while passiveness was (slightly, which is good) punished. You'd run forward, spot a hostile and vice versa and you'd start shooting at each other and moving and crouching to try and dodge as many bullets as you could. Then after killing him, you'd have to count your bullets, maybe switch to your secondary and fight for your life. It was intense, it was close, it was exciting, it was rewarding, it was what you'd imagine cyborg warfere could look like.